The CFDA Finally Recognizes New Media


The CFDA Finally Recognizes New Media


Garance Doré and Scott Shuman are like the fashion world’s Brangelina, minus the menagerie of adopted children and sordid relationship beginnings, oh wait. (Come to think of it, why hasn’t anyone made a nickname for them? Garman? Dorman?!) And with the Council of Fashion Designers of America full list of nominees and honorees for its 2012 Fashion Awards just announced, their status as a fashion power couple was cemented when it was announced that the pair was awarded the Eugenia Sheppard Media Award, which, if you’re wondering, is a pretty big deal.

For those of you fashion neophytes, The CFDA awards are to the fashion industry what the Oscars are to Hollywood. It’s a lot of pomp and circumstance and self aggrandizing, but, more importantly, the awards are like the fashion establishment’s gilded stamp of approval. And finally, oft-discriminated bloggers like Doré and Schuman are being recognized (previous recipients for the media award have always come from a print background like Cathy Horyn, Suzy Menkes, and Bruce Weber.) The award, which comes on the CFDA’s 50th anniversary, proves what a pivotal role digital media plays and finally lends some credibility to new media.

Doré and Schuman are power players in street-style photography, the newly anointed Holy Grail of fashion, which shows how real people embrace trends, or in some cases, start them. French born illustrator Doré started her eponymous blog six years ago, one year after photographer Shuman started his now infamous (and often copied) The Sartorialist. And while they are Mr. and Mrs. Street Style, and not Mr and Mrs. Smith, together they have captured almost every angle of street style, from Anna Wintour’s bob to an anonymous university student wandering the street in Milan. Here’s a full list of the nominees.

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award: Ashley Olsen & Mary-Kate Olsen for the Row, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs.

Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid, Patrik Ervell, and Simon Spurr.

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff.

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Womenswear: Chris Peters & Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind, Joseph Altuzarra, and Max Osterweis & Erin Beatty for Suno.

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear: Antonio Azzuolo, Phillip Lim, and Todd Snyder.

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Accessory Design: Irene Neuwirth, Pamela Love, and Tabitha Simmons.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger.

The Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Scott Schuman & Garance Doré.

The Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp.

The Founders Award, given in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Rosen.

The International Award: Rei Kawakubo.

The event will be held June 4th at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall and hosted by Seth Meyers.